Wisconsin stations pick up 22 regional Murrow awards


Six Wisconsin TV stations and three Wisconsin radio stations this week collectively won 22 regional Edward R. Murrow Awards. The awards are given out by the Radio Television Digital News Association (RTDNA).

Award recipients demonstrate the spirit of excellence that Edward R. Murrow set as a standard for the profession of electronic journalism.

National winners will be announced in June. The WBA Awards Gala will be May 4 at the Madison Marriott West.

WBAY-TV, Green Bay

Excellence in Social Media

Investigative Reporting
Target 2 Investigates: Rumble over Rumble Strips

WGBA-TV, Green Bay

Project Drive Sober

Wisconsin Public Radio

Excellence in Innovation
Beyond the Ballot

Excellence in Sound
Is Everybody Ready? Barron County Trains Residents on How to Survive a Mass Shooting

Feature Reporting
As He Loses His Sight, Journalist Known for Rich Detail Embraces New Chapter

WISC-TV, Madison

Overall Excellence

Breaking News Coverage
Sun Prairie Explosion

Continuing Coverage
Sun Prairie Explosion

Excellence in Sound
Farmer’s Reality

News Series
Time to Talk

WISN-AM, Milwaukee

Sports Reporting
Letting Every Girl Sparkle

WISN-TV, Milwaukee

Continuing Coverage
Taser Takedown: The Sterling Brown Arrest

WITI-TV, Milwaukee

Breaking News Coverage
Historic Church Fire

Excellence in Innovation
School Bus Inspection Database

Excellence in Sound
More Than Words

Excellence in Video
The Last Straw


FOX6 News at 9:00 – Sun Prairie Explosion Aftermath

WMTV-TV, Madison

Excellence in Writing
MMJ Morgan

WTMJ-AM, Milwaukee

Breaking News Coverage
The Fire at Trinity Lutheran

Hard News
The Power of the Prison Ministry